Red Passion Writings

A collection of short stories and poems from a queer romance writer

Writing Erotica in an Unlikely Place

A few weeks ago I traveled to Canberra (Australia’s national capital) for a work conference.  I flew in on the Sunday before the conference. Although I could have browsed the numerous museums or both houses of parliament (old and new), I wanted to squeeze in some writing. 

I strolled through the lush parklands dotted with maples, pines, and other cold climate trees, native gum trees, past colourful rose gardens and then came upon Old Parliament House. I decided upon buying a coffee and sitting in the cafe and writing. 

I purchased a soy cappuccino and sat at the best table in the cafe – in front of the window that looked down the mall towards the Australian War Memorial and Mt. Ainsley looming behind it. I pulled out my iPad, some old notes of a story penned twelve years ago and typed up my erotic lesbian romance ‘Magdalena,’ which I have just published on Amazon

As I typed and imagined the steamy lesbian love scenes between my characters (and felt rather ‘hot under the collar’ myself) I had a sudden thought – I’m writing erotica in Old Parliament House, the former seat of the Australian Federal Government! What an unlikely place to write erotica. But an awesome topic for a blog post! 

So my writing session was fruitful. I had an almost 4,000 word story in publishable form. I attended the conference over the two days. After a delicious drink in the bar of the Hyatt Hotel, a sumptuous historic hotel just down the road from new Parliament House, I caught the flight home, and set about editing my story. 

I’d love to hear about some of the unlikely places you’ve written or read erotica in. Email me at redpassionwritings@gmail.com.

New Parliament House

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Writing Erotica in an Unlikely Place

  1. I haven’t had the courage to write erotica in public places, and I applaud you for writing in the cafe. I’ve only done it in the safety of home. I think I’d be worried of people wondering why I was typing so fast 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks! Hmm, the others in the cafe probably thought I was intensely typing something. Caught up in my story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

