Red Passion Writings

A collection of short stories and poems from a queer romance writer

Inspiration > The Duchess

I wanted to immerse myself in a French Revolution or Georgian drama. I wanted to admire the costumes – I love the gorgeous dresses & stylish breaches (what is more sexy than a beautiful woman in tight black breaches and a riding habit!) and wonder what it was like to live in that era.

In lieu of watching The Scarlet Pimpernel (namely the BBC TV series), one of my favourite dramas set in the French Revolutionary and Georgian eras, I set about watching The Duchess (read about the movie on IMDb here). The movie stars Keira Knightly and chronicles the lavish, yet restrictived, life of Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire. 

Every time I watch this movie I thank my lucky stars I live now, in a century and modern society where we can live and love freely, where there are no obligations regarding marriage and child bearing, and that we as women have equal rights and can decide our own fates. It makes me angry. It spurs my feminist beliefs.

It gives me inspiration. Inspiration to write my long dreamt of novel set in French Revolution and Georgian times. My story is a little different to that of The Duchess. It is a story of freedom, of lesbian romance, of exotic locales (namely India). Now to set about writing my story! I will finish it one day and share it with my wonderful followers. Stay tuned.



And I have to include this saucy scene from The Duchess


Images sourced from the Internet.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

